Gluten-Free Substitutions
I’ve found that my body responds best when I limit the amount of grains that I eat so many of my recipes are paleo and I use coconut flour or almond flour most often.

Occasionally, particularly around the holidays, I enjoy making the traditional holiday cookies that I grew up eating. If you are used to eating breads and other traditional gluten containing foods it may seem like it would be difficult to make the transition to gluten-free foods. There are a lot of good all-purpose gluten free flour mixtures available now that may equally substitute wheat flours cup for cup. I also like to bake with brown rice flour, teff flour and gluten free oat flour but there are a number of different gluten free flours to try such as sorghum flour, garbanzo bean flour, potato and sweet potato flours; the list goes on and it’s fun to experiment with different types. 








Gluten-Free Cooking

If you or someone that you’re cooking for has Celiac Disease or wheat allergies it’s extremely important to be vigilant about avoiding any gluten sneaking into a meal! Make sure to be an avid label reader! In addition to wheat, other gluten containing foods are rye, barley, spelt and kamut. Oats are a naturally gluten free grain, but because of cross contamination they should be avoided unless they are specifically labeled gluten free. Many condiments, flavorings and thickeners also contain gluten such modified food starch, malt vinegar and soy sauce (unless it’s wheat free and labeled gluten free). One of my favorite substitutes for soy sauce (which may also contain gluten) is coconut aminos. It’s derived from coconut tree sap and has a flavor and consistency similar to soy sauce and can be used in equal measurement to replace soy sauce in recipes. 

Try to eat as many foods in their natural form as possible and be the one in charge of combining them with fresh or pure dried herbs, spices and flavorings rather than buying purchasing packaged, ready to serve processed foods. Prepackaged foods often contain artificial colorings, flavorings and thickening agents which are used to keep them as close to freshly prepared as possible and help to maintain a longer shelf life. These quite often contain gluten and need to be avoided. It’s much more fun anyway to prepare a meal simply using fresh ingredients that you’ve created yourself!

Just as there are many gluten free flours available now, there are also quite a few gluten free pastas as well such as brown rice pasta, quinoa blend and corn pasta. If you’d like to try grain free pasta, there are some good types made from different varieties of beans and even almonds.

When preparing gluten free meals for someone with Celiac or a wheat allergy, it’s especially important to avoid the possibility of cross contamination with gluten containing foods. Dedicate a toaster solely for gluten free bagels and toast to assure that they won’t come in contact with any crumbs from traditional breads and bagels. Clean out your cutlery drawers to make sure there are no crumbs hiding in there that may have collected over time. Thoroughly clean your prep area and replace and clean sponges and dish towels often. It’s also a good idea to label which condiments are gluten free and store them together in a separate area in the refrigerator and cabinets than the ones that contain gluten so you won’t accidentally grab the wrong one when preparing a dish.

I prefer making my own salad dressings and vinaigrettes as many prepared ones contain gluten, soy or dairy. It’s a nice way to have fresh dressings that enhance my salads and let the vegetables in my salad shine! I usually use freshly squeezed lemon juice, olive oil, a dash of honey and a few key herbs and spices. I also use different types of vinegar such as raw apple cider, wine or balsamic vinegars. Make sure that it’s pure vinegar and is labeled gluten free as many brands of balsamic and other specialty vinegar may contain caramel coloring which may contain gluten. 


It’s fun to experiment and try some new foods. Below is a sampling of gluten free foods, it’s by no means an exhaustive list:

Gluten-free foods

Fresh fruits and vegetables

Fresh herbs and spices

Nuts and nut butters

Eggs

Fresh meats and fish without any added seasonings

Rice 

Quinoa

Buckwheat

Corn

Amaranth

Millet

Oats (make sure they’re labeled gluten free to assure that there’s no cross contamination)

Teff


Foods to avoid

Wheat

Kamut

Spelt

Rye

Barley

Oats are generally avoided because they are almost always processed in mills that process grains containing gluten

Modified food starch

Barley enzymes (found in majority of breakfast cereals), soy sauce, and distilled vinegar (malt vinegar)